Friday, May 31, 2019

History of Monvesia: Ancient Era

ybe = years before the [Divine Drajan] Empire
ye = year of the [Divine Drajan] Empire
The most likely "universal" date count.
ybk = years before the Kleimland
yk = year of the Kleimland
The dates as counted during my original campaign.
In the Ancient Era, ages are not counted, for no exact dates can be known.  Far before any mythical time of heroes, this period is as much prehistory as it is genesis myth.

In The Beginning ...

  • The Six Spheres are drawn toward each other, colliding at a single point.  Within the ensuing elemental chaos, the world of Orbimond was formed.  Orbimond becomes an anchor tying the Spheres together; only the destruction of that world will release them.
  • In the wake of the Tumult of Orbimond, the Aeons awaken at the cores of the Spheres.  They awaken the elemental and angelic hosts to serve them.
  • The Cosmic Marches and the Otherworlds solidify where two or three Spheres overlap.

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Monvesian Culture: Dwarf-Kin Religion

The dwarf-kin--dwarves, gnomes, and neanderthals--venerate a pantheon of ascended beings called the Paragons.  Though they ascend through the same process as the human saints, they are far older.  Free from the oppression of the HMDJVNW, ancient proto-dwarves were able to learn of the paths to immortality much earlier than humankind.

Though they interact with the Paragons differently, all three dwarf-kin races recognize them as the eldest of their kind.  Eight paragons are universally recognized by all three races--these are the paragons presented in "Priests of Monvesia." They are known by their dwarven names, which is the eldest of the dwarf-kin languages.  The variation in epithets demonstrate how the culture of each race compares to those of its kin:  caste dwarves, traveler gnomes, and nomadic neanderthals.
  • Materialist Paragons
    • Mosamartle
      • the Magistrate [dwarf high caste]
      • the Lawgiver [gnomes & neanderthals]
    • Meomari
      • the Warrior [dwarf High Caste]
      • the Defender [gnomes & neanderthals]
    • Khelosani
      • the Artisan [dwarf Middle Caste & gnomes]
      • the Smith [neanderthals]
    • Meshakhte
      • the Miner [dwarf Low Caste & gnomes]
      • the Mason [neanderthals]
  • Idealist Paragons
    • Mekare
      • the Archivist [dwarf Middle Caste]
      • the Storyteller [gnomes and neanderthals]
    • Vachari
      • the Merchant [dwarf Middle Caste & gnomes]
      • the Trader [neanderthals]
  • Vitalist Paragons
    • Msakhuri
      • the Servant [dwarf Low Caste]
      • the Homemaker [gnomes]
      • the Fire-Tender [neanderthals]
    • Vaeltava
      • the Casteless [Casteless dwarves]
      • the Wanderer [gnomes]
      • the Scout [neanderthals]

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Index of Higher Beings in Monvesia

Higher beings of Monvesia include:  ascended beings (saints, paragons, and patriarchs of the various races), archdaemons, aeons, and genie lords. Though described in more detail in other posts, there are listed here for quick reference.  All of the beings listed below share a particular trait:  they are available as patrons/sponsors for ascension.

The entries below follow the following format:
Name (T), Alias(es).  Description.  Epithet(s).  Planar home.
Names are listed with the oldest name first; alternate names include secondary entries referencing the main entry.  (T) is temperament, using their initials as an abbreviation:  Altruism, Materialism, Dynamism, Idealism, Vitalism, Nihulism, and even Universalism.
The "cannonical" order of temperement is therefore:  AMDIVNU.  That the Great Old Ones of Monvesia are called HMDJVNW ("Am-DIV-New") is no coincidence--for the Old Ones are a corruption of the temperamants, representing zealotry, obsession, and madness.

Friday, May 24, 2019

Dwarves of Prace and Henjal

As the world expands, the way the established races interact with must change.  Humans and goliaths are not the only race to migrate. Elves and dwarves can be found on other continents as well.
Language Analog: Georgian
Inspiration: Dwarves in the Dragon Age franchise, Oriental Adventures

Tainted Counterpart: Hobgoblin
Temperamental Association: Materialist

Male Names: Amiran, Anzor, Archil, Avtandil, Bidzina, Givi, Gocha, Gurgen, Imeda, Malkhaz, Mamuka, Okropir, Otar, Revaz, Tornike, Vakhtang, Vazha, Vepkhia, Zviad

Female Names: Bedisa, Darejan, Endzela, Eteri, Gulisa, Khatuna, Lali, Makvala, Manana, Mzia, Nana, Natela, Nestan, Rusudan, Tinatin, Tsisana, Tsiuri, Vardo

From left to right: Crown Dwarf ("Duergar"), Pracian Dwarf,
and Fuhonese Dwarf ("Korobokuru")