Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Planar Inhabitants of Monvesia

Many creatures are native to the Spheres.  The Spheres are divided into three general regions, each of which is home to particular creatures:  an inner Transitive Region, which is home to some aberrations, fey, thoughtforms, and undead (see "ethereal & umbral," below); a core Elemental Region, which is home to elementals and their kin; and a city-like outer region which is home to outsiders.

At the heart of each City is its Throne--a natural, elemental shrine that houses the Sphere's aeon, or consciousness (the aeon's physical form being the Sphere itself).  It is from these aeons that the angels originate, and it is through the angels that that will of the aeon is communicated and/or enacted.  While the aeons are the supreme governors of the Spheres, dominion over these otherworldly planes is typically exercised by the elemental princes.

Creature Types of the Spheres


Most aberrations come from the Far Realm, beyond the Spheres.  A select few, however, originate elsewhereThe slaadi, for example, are native to the Modal Plane, the transitive region of the Pyrosphere.

Ethereal & Umbral (Undead)

While the undead types are not necessarily native to the Spheres, they do draw power from and are inexorably bound to them.  In Monvesia, undead are treated as two types:  Ethereals (bound to the Plane of Ether) and Umbrals (bound to the Plane of Shadow).  Ethereals are typically spiritual bodies left behind after death, while Umbrals are often corpses reanimated by shadow (or "dark magic").  The undead from the Monster Manual break down as follows:
  • Ethereals:  Banshee, Ghost, Revenant, Will-o'-Wisp
  • Umbrals:  Crawling Claw, Death Knight, Demilich, Dracolich, Flameskull, Ghast, Ghoul, Lich, Mummy, Mummy Lord, Shadow, Skeletons, Specter, Vampire, Wight, Wraith, Zombies
The ability to turn undead applies to both Ethereals & Umbrals


Just as the undead are tied to the Ethereal and Shadow Planes, the Fey are tied to the Plane of Yore.  Many intelligent creatures classified as Plants in the Monster Manual are instead classified as Fey in Monvesia: Blights, Myconids, Treant.  Other plants (awakened plants, awakened trees, fungi, shambling mounds, etc.) remain a separate creature type.


Creatures from the Plane of Thought are of a new type called thoughtform. Once such creature, the tulpa, has been seen in D&D before as the astral construct of 3.x

Outsider (Celestial & Fiend)

In Monvesia, with the elimination of traditional alignments, the distinction between celestial and fiend isn't as clear as it can be in other settings.  In this setting, these two creature types are classified together under the older distinction of outsider.  A sub-type of outsider is divinity, which applies exclusively to aeons, angels and saints.  A divinity is distinct from other outsiders by its ability to help mortals ascend to immortality.


Angels are not beings of goodness in service to celestial gods:  Instead, they are the servants of the Spheres themselves, born to and in communion with the aeon of one of the Spheres. Angels of Monvesia include celestials and fiends:  cherub (or "sword archon"), deva, erinyes, monad, paraclete, planetar, psychopomp, shadow demon, seraph, solar, succubus/incubus ("passion demon"), throne archon, trumpet archon.

Devas, Solars, and Planetars are universal angel types that can be found in any Sphere, having the appropriate temperament.  Other angels serve particular roles,  and are unique to one or two spheres, as noted below.

Angels are so rarely see on the Mortal Plane that most mortals actually consider elementals to be angels.  However, angels do visit Monvesia; the first mortals to ascend to sainthood did so with angelic patrons.

Cambions & Nephilim

A cambion or nephil, is the scion of an angel (of any type) and a mortal--which is a rare occurrence, indeed.  The distinction between the two is somewhat vague:  If the angelic parent originated in an "unseelie" or "lower" Sphere, the scion is a cambion; while if the angelic parent originated in a "seelie" or "upper" Sphere, the scion is a nephil.  How the Spheres are distinguished between seelie and unseelie, however, differs by culture--though the Heiropshere is always considered upper, and the Necrosphere always lower.  Regardless of designation, the scion is feared and reviled as an abomination.

Inhabitants by Sphere

  • Italicized entries are new creatures or creature types to be detailed at a later time--probably just before they are needed. 
  • Underlined entries are the dwarven Paragons. 
  • [Bracketed] entries are creature types that originate or draw power from from this region of the sphere.


Plane of Thought:  [Thoughtforms]
Elemental Air:  Elementals (Air), Genies (Djinn), Invisible Stalkers, Mephits (Dust, Ice, Lightning, Smoke, Vacuum)
Azure City/Throne:  Angels (Deva, Monad, Planetar, Seraph, Solar, Trumpet Archon)
Known Saints:  Adoltho, Hephtan/Khelosani, Gygar, Mekare, Mermis, Nesta


Ethereal Plane: [Ethereals]
Elemental Light:  Elementals (Light), Genies (Khodam)Mephits (Aurora, Crystal, Lightning, Radiance, Rain)
Ivory City/Throne:  Angels (Deva, Paraclete, Planetar, Solar, Throne Archon, Trumpet Archon), Pegasi, Unicorns
Known Saints:  Aria, Baltus, Hadin, Jostin, Mohas, Msakhuri


Plane of Yore:  [Fey], Night Hag
Elemental Water:  Elementals (Water), Genies (Marids), Mephits (Brine, Ice, Mud, Rain, Steam), Water Weird
Verdant City/Throne:  Angels (Deva, Monad, Paraclete, Planetar, Psychopomp, Solar)
Known Saints:  Anumat, Asamma, Isyria, Orro, Sychus


Mirror Plane:  Modrons
Elemental Earth:  Elementals (Earth), Galeb Duhr, Gargoyles, Genies (Dao), Mephits (Crystal, Dust, Filth, Magma, Mud), Xorn
Golden City/Throne:  Angels (Cherub, Deva, Erinyes, Planetar, Solar, Throne Archon)
Known Saints:  Honsu, Iamus/Mosamartle, Meomari, Meshakhte, Mura, Netha, Theodore Rosenshild, Vachari


Shadow Plane:  [Umbrals]
Elemental Void:  Elementals (Void), Genies (Shaitan), Mephits (Aurora, AshBrine, Filth, Vacuum)
Onyx City/Throne:  Angels (Deva, Erinyes, Planetar, Psychopomp, Shadow Demon*, Solar, Succubus/Incubus), Hell Hound, Nightmare
Known Saints:  Hekala, Hippolyta, Oge, Rellis, Syphis
* Shadow Demons are the equivalent of undead angels.  The turn undead ability does not work against them, however.


Modal Plane:  Slaadi
Elemental Fire: Azer, Elementals (Fire), Genies (Efreet), Magmins, Mephits (Ash, Magma, Radiance, Smoke, Steam), Salamanders
Crimson City/Throne:  Angels (Cherub, Deva, Planetar, Seraph, Solar, Succubus/Incubus)
Known Saints:  Hathra, Ignatius, Maun, Nyres, Sietun, Vaeltava

Aeon of the Pyrosphere

No comments:

Post a Comment